Bullying – What Are We Gonna Do About It?

From finger pointing to passing glares….email, text messages to Facebook postings, bullying has reached unbelievable proportions. Our children live in constant fear of going to school and of not “fitting in” because there seems to be no limit to the extreme measures a bully will take to make their lives more painful and miserable. Question is: What do we do about it? We are the parents of the bullies as well as the bullied. We are the teachers, counselors and administrators. In Florida we have a policy called “NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND” Well what about the children who are tormented and tortured just to gain their education and meet their parents expectation of being all they can be? Our children are taking their own lives and the lives of others behind an epidemic that is constantly spiraling out of control. WHAT DO WE DO ABOUT IT?

My son was followed home for over a week by a group of boys promising to “kick the pretty off his ass” I went to the school, spoke with the vice principal, counselor,principal and school police official who advised me “Ms. Reid this young man (the leader) has a felony record and we have been trying to get him removed from the school with no success.” The resolution: Come pick your son up early everyday. We will let him out at least 15 minutes early so he can get home safely to avoid the problem. My answer: YOU GOT TO BE KIDDING ME! My child (the victim) should run and hide because you cannot control this punk. Well no problem I WILL handle it myself. In my royal hood princess fashion I picked up a bat and marched my way to this young man and advised him all of what I would do if he even looked sideways at my son EVER again. I know, I know not politically correct. Just like the man who lost his cool on that school bus. However, as a parent, I must say that I will go off on a hundred school buses before I allow my children to live in fear or worse find myself picking a burial plot for one of mine because no one knew what to do. What’s the RIGHT answer?

One comment on “Bullying – What Are We Gonna Do About It?

  1. I think that with the new “Me” society kids are so disconnected from one another. This seems farfetched when you think about how much technology has us all so “connected”.

    I think if kids had a chance to really connect with each other it would be easier for them to see how much they really have in common. An angry little boy who has a father in jail, may be bullying a little boy whose mother is in jail. But they will miss the chance for a supportive life long friendship because of the tunnel vision epidemic plauging our children

Leave a Reply

